You may want to turn off the Web Privacy Report from your Safari homepage on your iPhone and also for the apps to stop them from accessing and tracking your private data.
Below, let’s find out why you get this report and how to get this done quickly.
Why is Safari giving me a Privacy report?
Safari shows you a Privacy Report to show you how many cross-site trackers it has blocked from profiling you over the past 30 days.
The more you visit sites in the browser, the more this report continues to gather and store encrypted data on your iPhone or Mac. It is turned on automatically on your Apple device’s Safari browser so you can monitor your web security.
How do I remove the privacy report from Safari home screen?
You can remove the Privacy Report from your Safari start page by editing the start page settings on your iPhone.
- Open the Safari app.
- Launch a new tab (tap the tabs icon in the bottom right corner, then tap the plus button in the bottom left).
- Scroll to the very bottom of the Start page and tap Edit to open Customize Start Page.
- Find Privacy Report and toggle the switch to turn it off.
- Tap X to close the menu and save your changes.
Info: To disable this report on all of your iOS devices that share the same Apple ID, toggle off the switch next to Use Start Page on All Devices in the Customize Start Page window.
Should the app privacy report be on or off on my iPhone?
You should turn it on if you want to see which apps use your camera, microphone, location, or talk to third-party web domains. It has no noticeable impact on battery or performance, and you can disable it anytime in iPhone settings.
INFO: The Privacy Report does not gather any details of private browsing sessions on Safari.
What happens if I turn off the app Privacy Report on my iPhone?
Turning off the App Privacy Report on your iPhone immediately stops your device from logging app activity and permanently deletes all existing log data currently stored on your phone.
How do I turn off the App Privacy Report on my iPhone?
To turn off and delete data from the system-wide App Privacy Report on your iPhone, go to Settings > Privacy & Security > App Privacy Report and tap Turn Off App Privacy Report.
Note: Turning this off will also clear all previously recorded report data from your iPhone.
The second method to disable the Privacy Report for your apps on your iPhone is to disallow them from requesting to track data. To do this:
- Open iPhone Settings.
- Tap Privacy & Security or Privacy and select Tracking.
- Toggle the switch next to Allow Apps to Request to Track to turn it off.
Tip: You can also toggle off the switch next to specific apps to disable the tracking permission and avoid getting the Privacy Report.
How do I remove the Privacy Report icon from Safari?
You can remove the Privacy Report icon from the Safari toolbar on a Mac with these steps:
- Open the browser.
- Press and hold the Command (
⌘) key on your keyboard. - Click and hold your mouse cursor on the Privacy Report icon in the toolbar.
- Drag the icon out of the toolbar area and release it when you see a small “remove” or “space” badge appear.
Alternatively, you can right-click (or Control-click) anywhere on the Safari toolbar, select Customize Toolbar…, and then drag the Privacy Report icon out of the window that pops up.
Note: Hiding the Privacy Report from your homepage only removes the visual summary box. Apple Safari will continue protecting your browsing activity and blocking cross-site trackers in the background.
If you want to manage how Safari handles trackers rather than just getting rid of the Privacy Report icon:
- Open Safari.
- Choose Safari > Settings (or Preferences) from the menu bar and click Privacy & Security.
- Toggle off Prevent Cross-Site Tracking to deactivate it, or select your preferred option for Hide IP address from trackers.
- Also check Clear History and Website Data and click Done.
How do I erase my Privacy Report on Safari?
If you want to delete the previous privacy reports from Safari on your iPhone or iPad, open Settings> Safari > Clear History & Website Data, choose your desired time range, then tap Clear History.
To clear the tracking data and cookies that populate your Safari Privacy Report on a Mac, you need to clear your browsing history and website data.
Does Apple Privacy Report drain battery?
Apple Privacy Report quietly logs data locally on your device with minimal system overhead, so leaving it on has virtually no impact on your battery life.
Instead, you can use the feature to identify battery-draining apps on your iPhone or Mac.
To do this, head to Settings > Privacy & Security > App Privacy Report and check the app usage details under Data and Sensor Access. You can now use this information to limit access for those that excessively utilize location, camera, or other sensors, causing battery drain.
